My Favourite Chick Lit Books

Is it just me or does anyone else hate saying chick lit? I find it so patronising.  It annoys me how people tend to look down on chick lit (ugh) as something silly, as whenever I’m trying to get out of a reading slump or am in a bad mood I always find myself going for a book from this genre. It’s fun, easy to read and is guaranteed to cheer you up. Here are some of my all time favourites;

  1. Anybody Out There? (Walsh Family #4) by Marian Keyes

Marian Keyes’ books are essential reading to any fan of the genre. I’ve read the majority of them (there are 6 in the Walsh family series alone), but Anybody Out There? is my absolute favourite. I first read it years ago, when I was probably far too young to be doing so, but I was at the airport waiting on a delayed flight and had nothing else to do. I loved it and finished the book in a couple of hours. Although Anybody Out There? is the fourth in a series, you can easily read it without prior knowledge of the other books as you get caught up straight away and instantly fall in love with all the characters. This book centres around Anna, the slightly eccentric Walsh daughter. Like all of Marian’s books, Anybody Out There? deals with an upsetting topic that I won’t spoil for you as there’s a great twist. Although the plot centres around an awful event, the book is hilarious and heartwarming and will make you laugh and cry. It is also responsible for kick starting my obsession with living in New York, which will probably never happen.

      2. Rachel’s Holiday (Walsh Family #2) by Marian Keyes

Yes, I do have an obsession with Marian’s books. It was a close competition between this and Anybody Out There? for the number one spot, and Rachel’s Holiday narrowly missed out. Rachel’s Holiday is Rachel Walsh’ story (clues in the name). It’s set in a rehab facility and follows Rachel as she first denies, then faces her addiction problems.Again, you could read this as a standalone book without missing out on anything. There was something about Rachel that I really related to and that kept me thinking about the book long after I had finished it.

     

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I’m sure you’ve all either read this by now or seen the film, but I’ll give  you a quick recap anyway. Me Before You follows Lou Clarke, who’s life is completely changed when she becomes Will Traynor’s carer. The book manages to be funny and heartbreaking at the same time, making me an emotional mess when reading it. I think Me Before You had me crying at least 4 times. I started it at about 9pm on a Saturday night and ended up sitting sobbing at 1am when I finished it. I immediately got all my family to read it, as I’m evil and wanted their hearts to be broken too.

      4. PS, I Love You by Cecelia Ahern 

I just realised how depressing this list seems! Yes, the story is about a woman receiving letters from her dead husband, but I swear that it’s funny too! The main character, Holly, is so likeable and relatable and her friends are hilarious so the book isn’t all sadness. I actually read this after seeing the film, which I normally hate doing, but there’s a lot of differences between the two so don’t be put off if you didn’t enjoy the film. I loved both, but I think I cried more at the book. I better move on to something more lighthearted now, before we all end up crying…

     

5. The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

When I was younger I was totally obsessed with the Shopaholic series. I wanted to be Rebecca Bloomwood, obviously without the shopping addiction and crippling debt though. The first book is definitely the best in the series, but the others are fun too. I reread the first not too long ago and still loved it. Again, it was adapted into a movie but there were a lot of changes so watching the film first will literally spoil nothing for you. This book is a prime example of ‘chick lit’ (ugh); it’s fun, an easy read and will have you laughing out loud.

 

 6. The One We Fell in Love With by Paige Toon

Right, I included one fun book, now it’s back to crying. This was actually a birthday gift from my friend, I’d never heard of the author before so went into it not knowing what to expect. It started with quite a basic rom-com storyline, sisters secretly in love with the same man, that I thought I knew what to expect. I’m normally really good at predicting book endings and can normally see twists coming, but this actually managed to surprise me. It’s the twist that really made the book stand out for me. I obviously don’t want to ruin it for you, so all I’ll say is to have some tissues ready…

 

 

Sorry this list ended up so depressing guys, I swear I like fun books too!  Writing this list has made me really want to reread Anybody Out There? for the millionth time, so I may go do that now… Have you read any of these or can you recommend any other great ‘chick lit’ (ugh) books to me?

One thought on “My Favourite Chick Lit Books

Leave a Reply

