The Love Match (The Waverley Women #3) by Marion Chesney | Review

Image result for marion chesney the love matchThe Love Match is the third book in the Waverley Women series, following Fanny, Fredrica and Felicity Waverley. If you read my review of the first book on Friday, you’ll know I was less than impressed with it. I only decided to go ahead and read The Love Match (the second book in the series wasn’t available at the library) because I’m so behind on my Goodreads reading challenge. And you know, I’m actually glad I did. Whilst it’s still not a particularly great book, compared to The First Rebellion, it’s a masterpiece.

The Love Match follows Felicity, the only unmarried Waverley sister, living alone with only her female servants for company. Felicity is 100 times more interesting and likeable than Fanny was in The First Rebellion. She still believes in women’s rights and has recently published a scandalous book about a female rake anonymously. The book is a massive success and the talk of the ton, but Felicity wants to experience romance herself, rather than just writing what she has learnt from other books.

To be honest, a lot of the plot is ridiculous. For example, it would be inappropriate for Felicity to enter society alone but she has no family or guardians to accompany her. Apparently the only solution for this is for Felicity to disguise herself elaborately as an old woman and pretend to be her own aunt? When I read that I was ready to give up on the book, but it actually resulted in some funny scenes where old lady Felicity just insulted everyone. Although it was stupid at times, the writing was at least understandable and coherent, unlike the first book. Thankfully there were no insane hot air balloon storylines to confuse me this time! The storyline about finding the girls’ birth parents was also handled much better in this book, although I did find the answers disappointing.

The love interest in The Love Match is a lot better than Snobby Earl from book one, and the two characters falling in love was handled much more realistically. I also loved that Felicity kept her principles regarding women’s rights and that the Marquess didn’t try to change her. This book was a lot less offensive and annoying when discussing feminism as although I still wouldn’t say it was a great feminist book, it didn’t leave me in a rage like The First Rebellion did.

Whilst The Love Match wasn’t one of the best historical romances I’ve read, it was still a fun, easy read that was a vast improvement from the first book in the series. If you’re interested in reading it, I’d highly recommend starting straight from The Love Match. The backstory from the first two books is explained within it, so it could easily be read as a standalone book without causing too much confusion.

Have you ever read a book you didn’t like, then found that the sequel was actually way better? Are you going to brave reading this series from the start (don’t, save yourself) or will you just give The Love Match a try?

4 thoughts on “The Love Match (The Waverley Women #3) by Marion Chesney | Review

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    How old is this book? It looks pretty old…which is not a bad thing, but my mom used to call books like that, “bodice busters.” So whenever I see one, it makes me smile.
    But as long as you like it, that’s all that matters. I’m a fantasy romance/science fiction romance type of gal, so I love to see the diversity in our reading choices! 👍

    Like

    • Emma says:

      It was published in 1989! To be honest, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up if I knew that it was so old. I love historical romance, but I tend to enjoy them more if they’re written by a modern author as the ideas aren’t so outdated.
      I wouldn’t say this one was a bodice buster, but I have read some good ones haha!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

