The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson | Review

Image result for the adoration of jenna fox

The Adoration of Jenna Fox is about a 17 year old girl who wakes up from a year long coma with no memory of her life. She doesn’t remember her parents, her grandmother or even her own name. Personally, I think the memory loss plot has been overdone, but The Adoration of Jenna Fox brought an interesting and original perspective to it.

There isn’t much I can say about the plot without spoiling anything, so it’s quite difficult to write this review! All I can really say is it only took me a couple of hours to read the The Adoration of Jenna Fox as the book was really interesting and exciting. I did guess the twist (I’d be such a good detective), but it went into a lot more detail than I had expected, so I was still surprised. Like I said, I did think the twist was original and stood out amongst the other books I’ve read in the genre.

I really liked all the characters and felt like all of their actions were understandable and relatable. I sympathised with everyone, normally the main characters in stories like this can be annoying, but Jenna’s reactions were justified. I actually thought she was really funny (without meaning to be) as she’s forgotten basic manners and just says what she’s thinking to everyone’s faces. Her grandmother, Lily, also stood out and added some humour to what could have been a pretty dark book.

Sorry this review as pretty rubbish guys, but it’s so hard to properly discuss it without ruining anything! I actually noticed on Goodreads that a lot of reviewers have only rated it and not actually written anything, so I must not be the only one who struggled to write a review of it.

If you haven’t read The Adoration of Jenna Fox yet, then I’d definitely recommend it to you! If you do read it then please come let me know what you thought!

5 thoughts on “The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson | Review

      • TeacherofYA says:

        I think so…but only to see what happens to Jenna. I still need to read the final book…but then again, I’m a little OCD about finishing series. I almost always do eventually. I hate leaving a story unfinished. You know?

        Like

      • Emma says:

        Yeah I hate not reading an entire series. I had thought the first book had a good ending though so didn’t really think a sequel was necessary. I’m too nosey though so I’ll have to read it haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

