Exploring Pottermore | Personal

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpgI know I’m super late to the party, but I finally joined Pottermore! For those of you who don’t know, Pottermore is JK Rowling’s website filled with Harry Potter exclusives and features. It’s been going for a couple of years now and I have been on before, but I’ve never actually made an account. You’ve probably heard about the new Patronus test that was made available this week, everyone has been talking about it online. I’m so nosey that of course I had to find out what mines is, so I finally made an account. Of course I then had to try everything out, to mixed results.

First, I did the test that reveals what your Patronus is. To calculate it, you’re given several options that you have to choose from. For example, one was the stars or the moon? I think I read that there are different questions for everyone though. Between questions it kept buffering and saying that it was because I had an unusual animal. Now, at this point I was thinking I was going to get something ridiculous that no ones heard of, but guess what I got?

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

A stag! Literally the most famous Patronus there is. I think this confirms that I’m basically the female Harry Potter.

I then got to the most important thing; being sorted into my Hogwarts house. To test this you get asked a series of questions and asked what your response would be in certain situations. The way it’s laid out is a bit annoying as you have to click through all of the options individually rather than seeing them all at once, which meant I ended up forgetting half the options. I’ve always said I would be either a Gryffindor or Slytherin, maybe a Ravenclaw at a push, but never a Hufflepuff. What did I get?

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

There must have been a mistake somewhere, because there’s no way I’m a Hufflepuff! There’s nothing wrong with being a Hufflepuff (I love Cedric Diggory more than the next person) but it just doesn’t match me.

In a bit of a mood from being sorted into Hufflepuff, I decided against being sorted into an Ilvermorny house so I skipped that and went on to finding my wand. Again, you just have to respond to situations, as well as answering some basic questions about your height and eye colour. I was less interested in this result to be honest, but I got an Elder Wood wand with a Dragon heartstring core 11 1/4″ that has unyielding flexibility (sorry for the low quality pic).

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

Aside from the quizzes, there is exclusive writing from JK Rowling which is cool, and blog posts. The blog posts are quite similar to the kind of posts sites like Buzzfeed do, light hearted lists etc. To be honest, I probably won’t spend much time on the site, unless new quizzes are added. I do think it’s a great idea though, especially for younger fans.

Do you have a Pottermore account and if so, what do you think of it? What is your Patronus and what Hogwarts house are you in? Let me know!

4 thoughts on “Exploring Pottermore | Personal

Leave a Reply

