The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan | Review

Image result for the royal we book

I’ve been desperate to read this book for ages as I’m obsessed with any royals related fiction, and the authors are the creators of the hilarious website Go Fug Yourself. I finally managed to get a hold of it…only to end up in a stress induced reading block before I could start it. This is my third week of uni and I’m really not enjoying it so far, so all my spare time has been spent moping around feeling sorry for myself. I finally decided the other day to get it together and cheer myself up by starting this book. I’m so pleased I did, as The Royal We was one of those fun, easy reads that just makes you feel better.

The Royal We follows Bex, an American exchange student studying at Oxford University in London. One her first day she literally runs into a fellow student, Nick. Only Nick isn’t a regular student; he’s actually Prince Nicholas, the future ruler of the United Kingdom. Bex quickly becomes a part of Nick’s social circle, and their friendship eventually turns into more. Obviously when dating the future King, there are some complications and things don’t go completely to plan. To be honest, a lot of the complications are rich people problems, but I was still really invested in the ups and downs.

The characters are all likeable too and surprisingly relatable, even though they’re all either ridiculously posh or wealthy. Our main character Bex was funny and sympathetic, even if she did verge on annoying cool girl at times. It made me laugh that everyone acts like she’s a commoner, when her family are also really rich. I was actually more interested in Lacey, her twin sister. Lacey has always been the perfect twin who always wanted the fairytale, but when Bex is the one who gets it, she has to deal with being the less popular and successful twin for once in her life. I felt really bad for her, and was really rooting for her to get her prince too. If there’s ever a sequel, I’d love it to be from her perspective. Nick was your standard love interest, and although I did really like him, I did find him boring at times. I got a bit sick of his constant complaining about how hard his life is as it’s hard to sympathise with someone who’s inherited so much wealth and power, when people can’t afford to eat. I loved his brother Freddie though, he was hilarious and again, if there’s a sequel I hope it features more of him.

Prince with a cheeky younger brother falls in love with “common” girl at university, does the plot sound familiar to anyone yet?

Image result for will and kate wedding

Personally, I found the Will and Kate comparisons funny, and it actually made the book more realistic, knowing that something so similar actually happened. It was clear that the authors put a lot of effort into fully researching everything.

I do wish it had taken the chance to explore the fun royal stuff a bit more. Have you noticed that whenever books are about modern royals (this, The Selection series), the series are never from the POV of someone who actually embraces the lifestyle. I want fancy dresses and extravagant ballroom dancing! Maybe that’s why I loved Lacey so much, she actually wanted to experience the glamorous side.

Overall, The Royal We was a really fun read that I’d recommend to anyone who loves, romantic comedies or modern fairytales. Can anyone recommend any royal related books that really embrace the fairytale side of it?

2 thoughts on “The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan | Review

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I’m having stressful times at my school, too. GVSU is a good school, and at least I live at home, but the hours are long and work is trying to keep me when people don’t show up. I’m like, hey…school comes first. They don’t get it. I’d rather lose my job and find another one than mess up at school. You’ll do great. If it’s your first time, then there’s bound to be an adjustment, and if not, then there’s bound to be a TON of work that is overwhelming and makes things lonely. I feel you, girl. I’m here if you ever need to vent about the university life.
    😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      Thank you love, I hope it’s not too bad for you! Yeah uni 100% comes first, so unfair that they’re not being understanding.

      I’m in my final year of my course but I did the first three years of it at a college, so the adjustment to doing it an actual university is weird. Feeling totally overwhelmed with my dissertation and course work, but I’m sure I’ll be fine when I actually just get started. It’s procrastinating that’s my problem lol.

      Thank you again, if you ever need a rant I’m always happy to complain haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

