Guilty Pleasure Reads | Favourites

Guilty Pleasure, Noun, “something, such as a film, television programme, or piece of music, that one enjoys despite feeling that it is not generally held in high regard.”

I’m quite a harsh critic when I’m reviewing books, but there are some books that are so fun that it doesn’t how high quality they are, or how much I’ll be made fun of for liking them. Here are some of my favourite guilty pleasure reads (no judging!);

  • Twilight – Stephenie Meyer

 I know making fun of Twilight is the cool thing to do, but I genuinely still love the series. Yes it’s cheesy, yes Bella’s a whinge and yes the love triangle is annoying, but it’s fun. Whilst Stephenie Meyer’s writing definitely isn’t high quality, she managed to make the books so addictive. I first picked the series up when I heard the hype for the first movie, not sure what to expect. I read all 4 books in one weekend and quickly become obsessed. When I say obsessed, I mean embarrassingly obsessed. Thinking back to how much of a weirdo I was about this series makes me want to die. I had posters covering my room, read the books on repeat and had loads of merchandise. My school bag had a cringey Twilight slogan on it (too embarrassing to repeat) and I’d get in arguments defending it. Why did my family and friends let me act like this?! I should have been banned from leaving the house. Still, even though I look back on that with shame, I am still quite protective of the series. Without the Twilight books I don’t think YA would be where it is now so people should maybe be a little less snobby towards them.

  • The Host – Stephenie Meyer

The only thing I feel guilty about is putting The Host on this list. I LOVE this book. I’ve only included it because I think I’m actually the only person who loved it. Well, my mum liked it too. I think half the people who make fun of The Host haven’t actually read it, they just saw that it’s written by Stephenie Meyer and immediately made assumptions. I went into the book with zero expectations, thinking it would never live up to Twilight (I’m still cringing at myself). I thought I was right as the first 100 or so pages are ridiculously boring, but when it finally got into the action, I was hooked. The story is original, there are strong female characters and friendships and an exciting plot. I was so disappointed with the movie adaption, I hate that it got turned into a weird love triangle teen movie. If the film put you off reading it, then please give it a try as I swear the book is a million times better. 

  • Three Nights with a Scoundrel (Stud Club #3) by Tessa Dare

Again, I feel like I’m only including this because the historical romance genre is constantly looked down upon and we’re made to feel guilty about reading something like this, but this is actually a seriously good book. I do admit to feeling guilty though when I had to request the ‘Stud Club’ series from my library though, that was just a bit embarrassing. The other books in the series are so good too, but the third was my favourite. I really recommend that you try them, I gave this one 5 stars on Goodreads as I loved it so much. Maybe just use a false name when checking them out so your librarian won’t judge you and you won’t have to face the shame I did.

  • Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead

I feel like a traitor to the incredible Bloodlines spin off series by including Vampire Academy, but let’s be honest, it’s a total guilty pleasure. That’s not to say it’s bad, I think the series is very well written, I love a lot of the characters and the story is interesting. It does tick all the boxes of a classic guilty pleasure though; fast paced plot that’s pretty predictable, special snowflake main character and love triangles where you know exactly who the MC will end up with. Have any of you seen the terrible movie they made of it? I watched half an hour before having to give up because I couldn’t handle the second hand embarrassment anymore. 

  • Flowers in the Attic – V.C Andrews

Okay so this one actually is embarrassing to admit. Have any of you read this series? It’s about four siblings who’s mother forces them to live in her parents attic after the death of their father. They’re basically abandoned in the attic for years with only their crazy grandma looking after them. The two oldest siblings assume the roll of the parents, and just to warn you, there is incest. I first read the series years ago when my friend recommended it to me, but other than that I had never heard of it. Once I had finished it and went on Goodreads to rate it I saw it was a massive deal when it first came out due to its scandalous nature. Its funny reading it nowadays, because although obviously the incest is still gross, there’s no way the book would have caused a scandal if it was just released now.  The first book is super melodramatic and pretty ridiculous (in a good way) which makes it a perfect guilty pleasure. The other books in the series, not so much.

Please say I’m not alone in my guilty pleasure list! Do you have any secret shame reads that everyone makes fun of? Let me know so I don’t feel like such a loser!

4 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasure Reads | Favourites

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I am a VC Andrews fanatic (though she died after the first series and My Sweet Audrina. I’m here with you! Read the Casteel series, which starts with Heaven. I think you’d like that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

