Book Quotes | Favourites

I feel like all I do at the start of each post now is apologise for being such a dreadful blogger. Again, I’m sorry! Things have been so hectic recently that I haven’t really had the chance to read anything, which I hate. I’m honestly dreading looking at my Goodreads reading challenge progress.

Since I haven’t had the chance to read anything new, I thought I would do another favourites post. This time I’ll be sharing some of my favourite book quotes. I planned to include a lot of different books, but as usual I ended up just going on about my usual favourites:

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

“You’re a painter. You’re a baker. You like to sleep with the windows open. You never take sugar in your tea. And you always double-knot your shoelaces.” -Katniss

“You love me. Real or not real?”                                                                                                                                 I tell him, “Real.” – Peeta and Katniss

“Peeta, how come I never know when you’re having a nightmare?” I say.
“I don’t know. I don’t think I cry out or thrash around or anything. I just come to, paralyzed with terror,” he says.
“You should wake me,” I say, thinking about how I can interrupt his sleep two or three times on a bad night. About how long it can take to calm me down.
“It’s not necessary. My nightmares are usually about losing you,” he says. “I’m okay once I realize you’re here.” – Katniss and Peeta

“So that day, in music assembly, the teacher asked who knew the valley song. Your hand shot right up in the air. She stood you up on a stool and had you sing it for us. And I swear, every bird outside the windows fell silent…and right when your song ended, I knew – just like your mother – I was a goner.” – Peeta

“And then he gives me a smile that just seems so genuinely sweet with just the right touch of shyness that unexpected warmth rushes through me.” – Katniss

“I remember everything about you,” says Peeta, tucking a loose strand of hair behind my ear. “You’re the one who wasn’t paying attention.” – Peeta

I’m Not Pretty, I Am Not Beautiful. I Am as Radiant as the Sun.” – Katniss

Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books. In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.” – Juliette

“I want to be the friend you fall hopelessly in love with. The one you take into your arms and into your bed and into the private world you keep trapped in your head. I want to be that kind of friend. The one who will memorize the things you say as well as the shape of your lips when you say them. I want to know every curve, every freckle, every shiver of your body.  I want to know where to touch you, I want to know how to touch you. I want to know convince you to design a smile just for me. Yes, I do want to be your friend. I want to be your best friend in the entire world.” – Warner

“Why do you call her ‘love’?” James asks. “I’ve heard you say that before, too. A lot. Are you in love with her? I think Adam’s in love with her. Kenji’s not in love with her, though. I already asked him.”
Warner blinks at him.
“Well?” James asks.
“Well what?”
“Are you in love with her?”
“Are you in love with her?”
“What?” James blushes. “No. She’s like a million years older than me.”
“Would anyone else like to take over this conversation?” Warner asks, looking around the group.” – Warner and James

“I want so many things,” he whispers. “I want your mind. Your strength. I want to be worth your time.” His fingers graze the hem of my top and he says “I want this up.” He tugs on the waist of my pants and says “I want these down.” He touches the tips of his fingers to the sides of my body and says, “I want to feel your skin on fire. I want to feel your heart racing next to mine and I want to know it’s racing because of me, because you want me. Because you never,” he says, he breathes, “never want me to stop. I want every second. Every inch of you. I want all of it.” – Warner

“The tattoo is just setting below his hip bone.
H e l l i s e m p t y
a n d a l l t h e d e v i l s a r e h e r e
I kiss my way across the words.
Kissing away the devils.
Kissing away the pain.” -Juliette

The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare

“One must always be careful of books,” said Tessa, “and what is inside them, for words have the power to change us.” -Tessa

“You speak of sacrifice, but it is not my sacrifice I offer. It is yours I ask of you,” he went on. “I can offer you my life, but it is a short life; I can offer you my heart, though I have no idea how many more beats it shall sustain. But I love you enough to hope that you will not care that I am being selfish in trying to make the rest of my life – whatever length – happy, by spending it with you. I want to be married to you, Tessa. I want it more than I have ever wanted anything else in my life.” He looked up at her through the veil of silvery hair that fell over his eyes. “That is,” he said shyly, “if you love me, too.” – Jem

“We live and breathe words. …. It was books that made me feel that perhaps I was not completely alone. They could be honest with me, and I with them. Reading your words, what you wrote, how you were lonely sometimes and afraid, but always brave; the way you saw the world, its colours and textures and sounds, I felt–I felt the way you thought, hoped, felt, dreamt. I felt I was dreaming and thinking and feeling with you. I dreamed what you dreamed, wanted what you wanted–and then I realized that truly I just wanted you.” – Will
Okay guys, so I got a bit carried away with the romantic quotes – I can’t help myself! Have I included any of your favourites? Let me know your favourite book quotes in the comments! Byeee.
2 thoughts on “Book Quotes | Favourites

  1. Jazz says:

    You don’t need to apologize. Life takes over sometimes and that’s okay. I totally get how you feel! I’ve been having a review slump lately too 😦 Loving the quotes, particularly the ones from The Infernal Devices series!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      Yay, are your comments working again?
      Thanks Jazz, it’s been way harder to juggle everything than I thought it would be! I’m in the middle of a really good book the now, so hopefully that will get me out of my slump!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

