Uni Stress | Personal

If you don’t know, I’m in my final year of university and to be honest, I’m really struggling with it. Since it is the final year, I’m working on a dissertation as well as regular coursework. The dissertation is one massive research project on an area we’re interested in that has to be between 12,500-15,000 words. So far I’m at about 400.

My first progress report is due next week and I’ve barely done anything  so I’m really worried about getting into trouble. It’s been about a month since I actually chose my topic and should have got started on my literature review, but for the first couple of weeks I had no idea what I was meant to be doing so did nothing, and then it’s been so hectic with my group work for the other classes that it’s just fell to the bottom of the pile. I did try to get started last week but just got totally overwhelmed and gave up on it. I always struggle beginning assessments and then find I get started and I’m fine, but I’m worried I’m never actually going to be able to get started with this. I’m really bad for wasting time too, I’ll be sitting with my laptop ready to work and then open Netflix instead. Or I’ll say there’s a YouTube video I need to watch quickly, then I fall down a YouTube black hole and hours pass. I forced myself to get started today, and wrote the 400 words. What I’ve done isn’t very good, but I just want to make sure I have something to show for next week. I’m just so worried that I’m not going to get into it and will end up with a terrible mark.

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I haven’t been as dedicated a blogger recently, and this is basically why. I hate falling behind on blog posts, but because I’ve not really been having time to read I obviously have nothing to review. I read and reviewed two books last week which I was really pleased about, and I was happy with my Outlander clothing post. Whilst I’m not on the actual app or website much anymore, I still read the posts that get sent to my email from people I follow, so I still feel like I’m keeping up with what you are all posting.

There’s not really been much point to this post, it was mainly so I could let you know why I’ve been so rubbish lately and have a bit of a rant. Does anyone have any dissertation writing tips? I need all the help I can get haha. Hope you’re all well!

8 thoughts on “Uni Stress | Personal

  1. TeacherofYA says:

    I feel you, sister. Mine is called a thesis paper, and it’s 20 to 30 pages (I don’t know if they equal the same in words). I’ve already had to turn in a rough draft, and it was ROUGH. I am glad it’s not due until the end, but when it is, I also have to present it to a panel at school. Ugh. Then I graduate.
    Hopefully.
    I’m here if you ever need to talk. I don’t know your area of study, but mine is English-Secondary Education, so I wrote (or I’m writing) my paper on the importance of using YA in the classroom. I want to include a lesson plan as well. I have a conference with the teacher next week.
    I wish you so much luck! I’m taking four English classes at once so I have a lot of paper writing. 🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀😊🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀🍀

    Like

    • Emma says:

      How did you get on with your rough draft? I bet you were so relieved to hand it in!
      That sounds so interesting, I’m jealous I’m a business student so there aren’t many exciting topics to choose from. I’m doing mine on workplace diversity, so far I just feel like the work I’ve done is basic😞 so glad I don’t have to present it though! I’m awful at public speaking, I’d be a complete mess throughout the entire thing.
      Thank you so much, I’m here for you too!😘😘😘😘😘

      Like

  2. Jazz says:

    I was lucky enough to not have a dissertation. It came down to a choice between taking an extra module or that! I’m so sorry to hear that you’re having issues with it, though 😦 Have you you got a student support center at your uni? Or a personal tutor who you could talk to about the difficulty you’re having? They’re really understanding and will be able to advise you.

    Stay strong ❤ I have faith in you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      I wish that was the case for me! I have a meeting with my supervisor next week and I don’t think he’ll be very understanding tbh. I think I’ll probably just get a lecture about managing my time, but hopefully I’ll be surprised and get some useful advice. Thank you❤️

      Like

  3. Lara says:

    I’m in my final year, and I haven’t started mine, nor chosen a topic, but I’m more laid back about it, cause I have faith in myself and from next year, I guess that’s all I’ll be focusing on. But don’t stress yourself too much, thank God, it’s the final year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      I’m expected to have the entire thing finished for February😭 I need to to be more like you! I’m such a worrier, but I’m going to try and calm down. Good luck with yours x

      Like

Leave a Reply

