Life Update | Personal

Hi everyone! I’m sorry I’ve been such a terrible blogger recently, I’ve missed you all! I wanted to do a post just letting you know where I’ve been and what I’ve been up to. I have an exam next week and then that’s me finished my first trimester so I’m hoping to get back into the habit of posting three times a week then. If I don’t, please feel free to send me mean comments haha!

This year has been pretty awful. As I’ve spoken about before, I’ve been having a stressful time at uni. November has been one ofthe worst months yet, so I haven’t had any time to read any new books or any motivation to write any posts. I feel like I’ve had assessments due non-stop for the last month. I had two group projects due, both of which weren’t good. I’m a total perfectionist so I always get really anxious during group work, especially when I’m working with people who aren’t as interested as I am. I’ve basically been a nervous wreck these last few months because of it. Unfortunately, the majority of the coursework this year has to be done in groups so it probably won’t get better.

Like I said, I have an exam next week. I’m terrified about it because we haven’t been given much guidance on what to expect and the topic is so broad there’s no way I can study everything. I normally do well in exams, but only because I always have my answers prepared beforehand so I can memorise and rewrite them in the exam. But because I don’t know what to expect in this one, I have no idea how to study. I get so anxious before exams and I think if I open the question paper next week and can’t answer any questions I’ll just completely panic. Does anyone have any tips for studying when you don’t know exactly what will be in the actual exam? I need all the advice I can get!

I also feel like a total grinch this month. I’m so worried about my exam and getting feedback for my assessments that I haven’t been able to get into the Christmas spirit. I’ve barely bought any presents and have no good ideas. Normally I love buying thoughtful gifts but I have nothing special planned so far. I’m hoping that as soon as this exam is over I’ll cheer up though.

Onto some good news. Last time we spoke I was struggling with the literature review of my dissertation, but I’m happy to say I managed to get it finished! I don’t think it’s that great but my lecturer said I have nothing to worry about, so I’m hoping I’m just being harsh on myself as usual. If any of you have dissertations to write next year, please get started as soon as possible. I wish I had been given more information about it before summer so I could have got a head start on it.

I’m really enjoying my work too, the people are all lovely and I like speaking to all the customers. I feel like I’ve gotten more confident since starting the job which is great as I was so worried about it beforehand.

Sorry this post has been so miserable, just felt like I needed to be honest about why I’ve been so absent. How have you all been? What have you been up to since I’ve been away, have I missed anything exciting? Let me know, I’d love to catch up with you.

 

6 thoughts on “Life Update | Personal

  1. Lara says:

    Wow, you’ve written your literature review, I just got the go ahead to write the background of my study then I’ll tackle literature review, it’s so overwhelming

    Like

    • Emma says:

      It’s so difficult, isn’t it? You’re lucky you get longer deadlines! I think my lit review was meant to be done for the start of November but I really struggled with it. Good luck with yours❤️

      Like

Leave a Reply

