A Scot in the Dark by Sarah MacLean | Review


I don’t know what it is about the historical romance genre, but I pretty much love every book I read from it. Regency era romances are my favourites, even though they tend to all have really similar storylines, there’s just something unputdownable about them. I’ve read several of Sarah MacLean’s books now, and I’d say she’s definitely one of my favourite authors of the genre. The other books I’ve read of hers were funny, romantic and addictive, and a Scot in the Dark was no different.

I was so happy when I saw this book was listed on the library website and quickly went to my local library to grab it, but couldn’t find it after spending literally 20 minutes searching the shelves. Now, the obvious solution would be to ask the librarian to tell me where it was, but I couldn’t remember the name of the book, just that Sarah MacLean was the author. If you’re familiar with the genre you’ll know that the book titles and front covers tend to be a little awkward, so I was too scared to ask for help. I’d have died of embarrassment if I asked and the cover was of a half naked man or something similar. So I admitted defeat and went back the next day with my mum, who then went on to find it within a minute (I really need to start wearing my glasses). Thankfully the cover isn’t too embarrassing so I can still show my face at the library.

A Scot in the Dark is the second book in a series, but as with most series in the genre, each book can be read as a standalone. As it was the only book in the library I haven’t yet read the first, but I’m definitely going to see if I can get a copy online.

The book follows Lily, who is an outcast even though she is described as the most beautiful woman in London. She has no family or friends, so is easily manipulated by a vain artist, who convinces her to pose for a nude portrait. Lily does so, thinking it’s only for the artist to see, but he reveals he will be putting the painting on display in museums across the world. This causes quite the scandal and Lily is disgraced from society. The responsibility of saving her reputation falls to Alec Stuart, the reluctant Scottish Duke who has inherited the guardianship of Lily. Alec hates everything about England, his Duke status and resents having to look after a woman he’s never met. However, he pities Lily and resolves to save her reputation by finding her a respectable husband. Now, if you’ve ever read any sort of romantic book you’ll know where this is going.

I loved Lily and Alec, the chemistry and banter between them made the book. Lily was fiercely independent and Alec was stubborn, so when I was reading it I couldn’t help but picture Jamie and Claire from Outlander. As you know, I’m Outlander obsessed so comparing the characters is a massive compliment.

If you’re new to the genre, I’d definitely recommend starting with Sarah MacLean. I promise you’ll have a good time reading this, and it’ll make you fall in love with the genre.

Leave a Reply

