Meet Me in Manhattan by Claudia Carroll | Review

Image result for meet me in manhattan

Ever since I was little I’ve wanted to visit New York. I’ve grown up watching TV shows and movies that make it look like the most amazing place in the world, so I instantly gravitated towards Meet Me in Manhattan when I saw it in the library (how pretty is that cover?). Unfortunately, I felt like the book was a little too unrealistic to get invested in.

Holly  is a thirty-something news researcher living in Ireland who thinks she knows everything there is to know about online dating. She’s survived the dates with men who look nothing like their profile pictures or have secret families, and is now in a semi-serious relationship with Captain Andy McCoy, an airline pilot from America. Only, they haven’t actually met in person. And they only ever speak via email or phone and have never actually Skyped or FaceTimed. Now, if I was speaking to someone loads online and they refused to video chat me and only phone from a blocked number then I think I’d realise pretty quickly that I was being catfished. The book tries to justify why Holly was so easily lead on, but when it also tries to present her as a online dating expert, I found it hard to believe. When she eventually catches on, she decides to travel to New York to confront her catfish and name and shame him on her news show. Of course, he’s not who he says he is, and Holly is outraged. This is where I wanted her to show some backbone and stand up for herself and expose the creep, but instead she’s angry for about 2 chapters and then all is forgiven. I’m not going to spoil who the catfish is, but if it was me I would have

When she eventually catches on, she decides to travel to New York to confront her catfish and name and shame him on her news show. Of course, he’s not who he says he is, and Holly is outraged. This is where I wanted her to show some backbone and stand up for herself and expose the creep, but instead she’s angry for about 2 chapters and then all is forgiven. I’m not going to spoil who the catfish is, but if it was me I would have went crazy and then possibly died from the shame, but Holly is apparently a forgiving Saint. That’s what the biggest problem for me was, it just wasn’t believable. It’s such an interesting premise of a book, and it had the potential to have a serious message or be really funny, but it didn’t. I really couldn’t get over the instant forgiveness of the catfish and couldn’t like a character who took advantage of vulnerable women so easily. Overall the book just seemed a bit wish fulfilment-y.That’s not to say the book isn’t enjoyable, it’s just I never got fully invested in the story or the characters. I liked the scenes between Holly and her

That’s not to say the book isn’t enjoyable, it’s just I never got fully invested in the story or the characters. I liked the scenes between Holly and her straight-talking roommate Joy, and in her workplace. The writing of the easy banter was good, and the author really made New York sound incredible at Christmas.

If you’re looking for an easy read I think you will enjoy the book, you just have to suspend belief, which I wasn’t really able to do. Maybe I just couldn’t get into it because there are 2 days left of 2016 and I still have 3 books to read to meet my reading challenge…agh.

4 thoughts on “Meet Me in Manhattan by Claudia Carroll | Review

  1. susandyer1962 says:

    I used to live right across the river from that skyline…….amazing what you don’t appreciate when it’s right in front of you. Now I live across the country in Arizona and all I see are mountains and cactus! Haha

    Like

Leave a Reply

