9 Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake by Sarah MacLean | Review

Image result for 9 rules to break when romancing a rake

Happy New Year! I thought I’d start 2017 off right with another regency romance from Sarah MacLean. 9 Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake is the first in the Love by Numbers series, and it set it off with an amazing start.

,

At the ancient (lol) age of 28, Callie has accepted that she’s going to spend the rest of her life as a spinster. She’s plain, rule-abiding, and has never done anything adventurous in her life. That is until she decides that if she’s going to be a spinster, she might as well be an exciting spinster. This leads to the creation of her list, filled with scandalous activities that ladies simply don’t do. Number 1 on that list? Be kissed passionately. Slightly drunk on sherry, Callie decides that the kisser should be Gabriel Ralston, the notorious rake that she’s been in love with for 10 years. The drama that ensues was so much fun to read, and I loved every minute of it.

With every Sarah MacLean book I read I think that the characters from the previous can’t be beaten, and every time I’m proven wrong. I loved, loved, loved Callie. She’s a romantic, but also smart and strong. Ralston is stubborn and brooding (is it really a regency romance if the male MC isn’t stubborn and brooding?), but is also passionate and caring. I fell in love with them both, and hope they feature heavily in the next two books.

I also loved that the book had a feminist message about the unfairness of the freedom that men are granted that women don’t get. The items on Callie’s list were all things that men were expected to do, but would completely ruin a woman’s reputation if she did them. Obviously, the list doesn’t specifically apply nowadays, but the inequality unfortunately does. Callie was wonderfully smart and opinionated and gave lots of amazing speeches about that inequality throughout. YA and historical romance are currently the genres I read the most, and I’ve been surprised to did that the historical romance genre is far more progressive. The sexist characters and messages are one of the biggest problems in YA for me, so it’s refreshing to read a book with an intelligent feminist MC. I think a lot of people are put off of historical romance thinking it’s going to be old fashioned, but it really isn’t. As soon as I finished reading this I went straight online and ordered the next two books. I’m now anxiously waiting for the second book to arrive. Can you believe I got each book for 1 pence with £2.80 delivery? How amazing is that?!

As soon as I finished reading this I went straight online and ordered the next two books. I’m now anxiously waiting for the second book to arrive. Can you believe I got each book for 1 pence with £2.80 delivery? How amazing is that?! Hopefully all the books in 2017 will be as good as 9 Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake!

Hopefully all the books in 2017 will be as good as 9 Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake!

Leave a Reply

