10 Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord by Sarah MacLean | Review

Image result for 10 ways to be adored when landing a lord

I’m sure you’re all sick of me gushingly reviewing Sarah Maclean books by now, but I can’t help it, they’re so good! If you read my last review you’ll know that I loved the first book in the Love by Numbers series so I couldn’t wait to get started with the second book. 10 Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord follows Lord Nicholas (Ralston’s twin brother) and Lady Isabel, and whilst I didn’t love it as much as the first, it was still great.

When Nick is declared ‘one of the Lords to Land,’ he suddenly finds himself the object of unwanted attention. To escape the scheming ladies of the Ton he reluctantly agrees to search for the missing sister of the Duke of Leighton. This leads him to Yorkshire, where he crosses paths with Lady Isabel, the strangest woman he’s ever met.

I loved Nick in the first book so was excited to read a book from his POV and learn a bit more about his mysterious past. Lady Isabel is a new character to the series, which is always a bit of a risk. There have been times I’ve read a series with really well-developed characters that are then ruined when a random character appears from nowhere. This wasn’t the case with Isabel though, she was a brilliant addition to the series. I actually ended up liking Isabel more than Nick. He’s very moody and stubborn in this book, whereas he was mischievous and charming in the first book. I was a bit disappointed by that and didn’t root as strongly for him and Isabel to end up together as I normally would.

The Minerva House storyline was so good and really original. Once again, Sarah MacLean brings a feminist approach to the standard regency novels. I would have loved to have gotten to know more about the girls of the house and had more scenes between them and Isabel.

Although I didn’t love 10 Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord as much as I expected to, it was still a really enjoyable and fun read that has me excited to read the next in the series.

What series are you currently reading right now? Are you enjoying it? I’m dreading finishing the Love By Numbers series!

Leave a Reply

