Flawed by Cecelia Ahern | Review

Image result for cecelia ahern flawed

I was beginning to worry I was never going to get out of my reading slump as I couldn’t get past the first pages of the book I’d been attempting to read. I decided to try a new book and see if that helped so got started on Flawed… two and a half hours later and I had finished it! Flawed is the first ever YA novel from popular author Cecilia Ahern, so it’s very different from her other books. It is set in a dystopian future where people are branded as ‘Flawed’ if they make moral or ethical mistakes. They receive a physical brand (either on their tongue, forehead, hand, chest or foot) and are forced to live by different rules from the rest of society. Our main character is Celestine, a teenager who prides herself on being perfect. She has perfect grades, the perfect appearance, and the perfect boyfriend. Until she makes a decision that changes everything.

I was really excited going into this book. I’ve read Cecilia Ahern’s work before and like her style of writing so was excited to see how she would adapt to writing a YA novel. As with her other books that I’ve read, Flawed was written very well. Once I had finished reading and was thinking over it, I realised that not much actually happens in the book. However, it’s very well paced so it feels like more is happening and it’s never boring. I think Flawed is more of a set-up book where not much happens beyond creating future plot points. Normally this would annoy me, but for Flawed it worked, and I’m now desperate to get my hands on the sequel.

The premise of Flawed is very interesting, although I think the execution could have been a bit better. I’d have liked to have known more about how the Guild (the organisation that decides who is Flawed) came into power. I think because the rest of the society seems normal, it at times felt a little unbelievable that this crazy judging system exists. If more time had been spent developing the dystopian world then it wouldn’t have felt so far fetched.

The characters were your standard YA characters; the girl who accidentally becomes the face of a cause, the perfect childhood friend turned boyfriend, the bad boy love interest, the scary villain, the wise grandad, the untrustworthy rebel leaders. The character I found the most interesting was Celestine’s mum. When we’re first introduced to her it’s all about how perfect she is and how she is obsessed with maintaining her flawless image. There’s an annoying trope in YA where the mothers are always awful, terrible parents who are jealous of their daughters, whilst the fathers are all understanding and kind. I was worried that this was going to happen in Flawed, but I was pleasantly surprised. Her mum was well developed, strong, brave and kind, and a welcome change. I’d love to read more about her in the sequel.

Although the book has some flaws (sorry, I had to), I couldn’t put it down and can’t wait to read the sequel. Have any of you read Flawed yet? If so, what did you think?

***************************************Spoiler***************************************

PS, the video is going to be in the snowglobe Celestine was given, right? Right?? I need answers!

 

5 thoughts on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern | Review

  1. thelivingbooktree says:

    Just finished it but the review have to wait a bit because I have like 4 more to write before this one but I liked it, had a hard time with it in the beginning but then something changed. And as you said loved the character development with her mom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emma says:

      Haha I hate when I have a pile of reviews to write! I’m glad you enjoyed it in the end! I struggle to get past books that I’m not immediately gripped by, so I’m glad you decided to keep going! Yep her mum was definitely my favourite character. Can’t wait to read your review🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

