Songs I’m Currently Obsessed With | Music

I’m a bit of a weirdo when it comes to music. I get really obsessed with a few random songs and play them repeatedly until another song catches my attention. I’m really bad for falling down a YouTube black hole and finding cheesy songs from the 90s that no one listens to anymore, and then listening to them non stop. Does anyone else do this? My YouTube recommendations are always so embarrassing, I dread anyone looking at them. Anyway, here are 5 of the songs that I’ve been majorly obsessed with for the past couple of weeks, don’t judge me too harshly for them!

Only You – Selena Gomez

Like everyone else in the world, I recently binge watched 13 Reasons Why on Netflix. I read the book forever ago and can’t really remember much about it, except I wasn’t keen on it. So I was apprehensive when I started watching the show, but quickly became obsessed with it. I loved the entire series, but one of my favourite moments was in the final episode when the song Only You plays. I had heard the original version before, but since hearing it in 13 Reasons Why, I can’t stop listening to Selena’s version. I’m not that big a Selena fan (although Who Says is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine), but I love her voice in this. It’s such a pretty song that fit the scene perfectly.

The Wild One – Suzi Quatro

This is another song that I’ve become addicted to after hearing it in a tv show. I actually became obsessed with it ages ago after it was in a film, but had forgotten all about it until I heard it in Netflix’s Girl Boss last week. Since then I’ve not stopped listening to it. It’s so good and makes me feel like a bad ass (which I’m not).

Any Man of Mine – Shania Twain

Yes, I know this song is from the 90s and is a favourite of mums everywhere, don’t judge me. When I was younger my mum listened to Shania Twain constantly, so these songs remind me of my childhood. Warning: if you listen to this I guarantee you’ll have it stuck in your head for the rest of the day.

That Don’t Impress Me Much – Shania Twain

Has there ever been a more amazing music video than this one? Shania walking across the desert in a full leopard print number (including a cape) rejecting and insulting men = iconic.

That Thing You Do! – The Wonders (or the Oneders if you prefer)

Have you guys seen the film That Thing You Do? It’s about a boy band in the 60s, directed by and starring Tom Hanks. It’s honestly so good. I saw on Twitter that the cast had reunited the other week, so of course I’ve been listening to this song non stop. Although this is a song by a fictional band it’s one of my all time faves.

So there you have it, 5 songs I’m obsessed with at the moment. I feel like I’ve truly just exposed how uncool I am…What songs are you obsessed with at the moment? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

