You Should be Watching…Big Little Lies

 

TheImage result for big little lies last ‘You Should be Watching’ post I shared was about the Amazon show Good Girls Revolt (RIP), which I think I’m the only person who actually watched. The show I’m writing about today is way more famous than that, and I’m sure most of you will have already heard of this one: Big Little Lies. Starring Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman, Shailene Woodley, Laura Dern and Zoe Kravitz, this show got a lot of attention before it had even aired. When I first heard about it I was immediately excited (you know I’ll watch/read anything with well written female characters), and couldn’t wait to watch. Annoyingly, the show aired in the UK in March, which is when I was finishing off my dissertation as well as juggling other coursework, so I wasn’t able to watch it. I finally decided to catch up this week, and guys, it’s SO GOOD.

On the surface, Big Little Lies seems like a show about rich people problems. It’s set in a wealthy town and the main characters are all privileged. They have perfect homes, husbands and children. We quickly learn that this is just a cover though, and everyone has their own secrets and problems. The show covers serious issues, including domestic violence and rape (it can be graphic at times, so if that would be triggering for you, then it’s maybe best to avoid the show). In the first episode, we find out that someone has been murdered, but we don’t know who or why. Each week we see the events that happened leading up to the murder and try to piece the clues together. I actually worked out the main twists pretty early on but was still gripped each week.

The three main characters in the show are Madeline (Reese Witherspoon), a controlling mum of two who takes newcomer Jane (Shailene Woodley) under her wing, and her best friend, the beautiful and mysterious Celeste (Nicole Kidman). My favourite thing about the show was the strong female friendships. I loved, loved, loved the relationship between Madeline, Celeste, and Jane. It was so refreshing seeing three well written female characters be friends in a tv show. There were so many great scenes between the three of them where they would just be sitting chatting that were so pleasant to watch. My favourite character was Madeline. I’ve always loved Reese Witherspoon (Elle Woods forever), and she stole so many scenes for me with her one-liners and insults.  The acting overall was brilliant, Reese and Nicole really stood out for me, but the entire cast were great.

There are talks for a season 2 and although I’m a bit doubtful about where the story could go, I would definitely tune in anyway just to see the amazing characters again. I would happily watch seven more episodes just of Reese Witherspoon as Madeline insulting everyone.

Have any of you read the book? I’m interested to see how different the tv show is from the source material. Thank you for reading!

2 thoughts on “You Should be Watching…Big Little Lies

Leave a Reply

