The Scoundrel’s Honor (Sinful Brides #2) by Christi Caldwell | Review

Image result for the scoundrels honorThe Scoundrel’s Honor is the sequel to The Rogue’s Wager, which I reviewed yesterday. Even though I didn’t enjoy the first book that much, I still wanted to read book two, A) because Ryker was an interesting character in the first, and B) I’m nosey and hate not knowing how things end up. Thankfully, I found The Scoundrel’s Honor a much more entertaining read.

Ryker Black is the dangerous owner of one of London’s most popular gambling halls. He was raised on the streets and is notorious for the violent way he gained his power. Although he was a central character in the first book, we didn’t’ actually learn that much about him, he was always just the mysterious older brother who everyone was scared of. Well, everyone is still scared of him in this book…except Lady Penelope. After being caught in a misunderstanding, he is forced to marry the girl from a wealthy, noble family to save her from ruin.

I really liked both of the main characters a lot more from this book than the first. Ryker’s horrible past made him sympathetic and got me to root for him in a way that Robert’s didn’t, and Penelope was funny, smart and independent, everything Helena was meant to be. Although a connection between Ryker and Penelope seemed unlikely at first, the author developed the characters well within the first few chapters that made their situation believable.

Once again, I was left wanting more from the other owners of the club. In both books, I’ve been really interested in Ryker’s brothers who lived on the streets with him. I think there’s a lot of potential to explore more of each brother (I think the next book in the series is actually about Niall), they deserve a happy ending too!

Although I wasn’t completely obsessed with The Scoundrel’s Honor, I still enjoyed it. I would recommend it to romance fans looking for a quick and easy read.

Leave a Reply

