Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough | Review

Image result for behind her eyesOh my god.

That’s honestly what I said aloud once finished this book. You guys know that it’s rare that I’m surprised by a thriller, but Behind Her Eyes managed to completely shock me. This is one of those books that you immediately want to make everyone read, and watch their reaction whilst they read it.

Behind Her Eyes is a psychological thriller following Louise, a single mum whose life changes after she accidentally kisses her new boss, David. Her new boss who happens to be married. His wife Amber seems perfect, she’s beautiful, kind and self-deprecating. When the two women meet, they become friends, and Louise finds herself becoming obsessed with both David and Amber. However, she soon finds out that their marriage is full of secrets.

There’s not a lot I can say about the plot without spoiling anything for you. All I can really say is it’s a completely tense and exciting thriller, that will have you trying to work out who’s telling the truth. You’ll think you’ve worked out the twist, but you really haven’t.

I really liked the main characters of the story. The POV switches between the kind, gullible Louise and the suspicious Amber, who were both interesting and well-written. I loved Amber’s chapters, she was constantly surprising me, and in a weird way, I was actually rooting for her. There are also some chapters set in the past that look back to Amber’s troubled teen years, which slowly revealed more information about the start of her weird relationship with David. The author did such a good job of keeping me on my toes throughout the book, I was constantly changing my mind on what was actually happening (and was wrong about the majority of it).

This is such a difficult book to review, as I obviously don’t want to spoil anything! I can only repeat how brilliant the twist is, which I want you to all experience. Please go and read and report back to me as soon as you’re finished!

Leave a Reply

